About Stratford-on-Avon District

The district covers a large rural area, some 979km² (378 square miles) right in the middle of England. Over 135,000 people live in the district, the largest town being Stratford-upon-Avon with over 30,000 residents. More detailed statistics can be found on the council's Insight pages.

The council's policies that determine how it delivers its services to the communities of south Warwickshire are decided by 41 councillors, each of whom is elected every four years.

Incidentally, the council often gets asked why there is a difference in using the terms 'Stratford-on-Avon' and 'Stratford-upon-Avon'. Anything to do with the town of Stratford is always referred to as Stratford-upon-Avon. However, as a district council, we cover a much larger area than the town itself, but do not want to lose the instantly recognised tag of Stratford, so anything to do with the district is referred to as Stratford-on-Avon.

The district is divided into 39 wards, each having its own councillor, except for two wards that have two. Further information is available from our Councillors and Meetings pages. These pages contain information on each councillor and their contact details.

Contact: The Performance, Consultation & Insight team

Last updated on 23/05/2023