Gambling Act 2005

Licensing policy statement of principles

You can download a copy of this Local Authorities current Gambling Policy statement of principles.

The 2007 Gambling Act 2005 guidance

On 1 September 2007 the Government introduced the provisions of the Gambling Act 2005. Stratford District Council, acting as the Licensing Authority, became responsible for the implementation and administration of certain parts of the Act. Under the Act, there are three types of licences available; premises licences, personal licences and operating licences.

The Licensing Authority is responsible for issuing premises licences for casinos, betting shops, bingo halls, adult gaming centres and family entertainment centres and the Gambling Commission is responsible for issuing personal and operating licences.

Permits are also issued by the council to authorise the use of certain gaming machines in premises, including members clubs. Only certain categories are allowed in certain premises.

Further information about the Act is available at the gambling commission website.

Contact: The Licensing team

Last updated on 15/07/2021