Elections 2023 - Thursday 4 May

Press Release

Published on 15 March 2023
Archived on 15 April 2023

The Stratford-on-Avon District Council elections take place on Thursday 4 May 2023 which also coincides with Town and Parish elections, with voting taking place from 7am until 10pm.

To be able to vote at these elections residents must either be on the electoral register or have applied to be so by midnight on Monday 17 April.  If in doubt, please contact Stratford District Council's Elections Office on 01789 260208 to check you are on the electoral register at your current address.

Postal votes are available to any District resident who is on the electoral register. These are especially useful for those that are unable to get to a polling station on polling day, due to health reasons or maybe on holiday or working away.

All completed postal vote application forms must be submitted before 5pm on Tuesday 18 April.

From May onwards, electors that wish to vote at a polling station must show acceptable photo ID. Full details and a list of photo ID are available on the Council's website at Voter ID at Polling Stations | Stratford-on-Avon District Council

If electors have no suitable photo ID they can apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate online at Apply for photo ID to vote (called a 'Voter Authority Certificate') - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

For all elections enquiries please contact Stratford District Council's Elections Office on 01789 260208.

The last District Council elections took place in 2019. However, this time there is an increase from 36 to 41 Councillors to be elected following a Boundary Review for the District. Each Councillor is elected for four years.

Stratford-on-Avon District Council wards:

Alcester East
Alcester West
Bidford East
Bidford West
Bishop's Itchington, Fenny Compton and Napton
Brailes and Compton
Claverdon and Snitterfield
Gaydon, Kineton and Upper lighthorne
Long Marston
Salford Priors and Alcester Rural
Shipston North
Shipston South
Southam East, Central and Stockton
Southam North and Long Itchington
Southam South
Southam West
Stratford-on-Avon Avenue
Stratford-on-Avon Bishopton
Stratford-on-Avon Clopton
Stratford-on-Avon Guildhall and Bridgetown
Stratford-on-Avon Hathaway
Stratford-on-Avon Orchard Hill
Stratford-on-Avon Shottery
Stratford-on-Avon Tiddington
Stratford-on-Avon Welcombe
Studley North
Studley South
Wellesbourne East and Rural
Wellesbourne North and Rural
Wellesbourne South
Wootton Wawen

There will also be Town and Parish Elections taking place on the same day to elect 572 Town/Parish Councillors across 81 Parish Councils in the District.

Poll cards with details of the election and the polling station electors should use will be sent out from Friday 17 March.

The Notice of Election has been posted on the District Council website.




Contact details

Stratford-on-Avon District Council
Elizabeth House, Church Street,
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire,
CV37 6HX
Tel: 01789 267575

Back to Current Press Releases

Contact: The Communications team

Last updated on 17/03/2023