Warwickshire Local Councils Charter adopted


Published on 8 July 2024

Stratford-on-Avon District Council's Council has agreed a revised Warwickshire Local Councils Charter. This Charter will replace the existing Local Councils Charter agreed by the District Council in 2015.

The overall aim of the Local Councils Charter is to improve relationships between the tiers of local government in Warwickshire. Effective partnerships will ensure an improvement in consultation and communication about policies and decisions that may affect local communities.

There are three levels of local government in Warwickshire: Warwickshire County Council, the five District and Borough Councils and the Parish and Town Councils. Warwickshire County Council and the five District and Borough Councils form the Principal Councils. The Parish and Town Councils form the Local Councils.

The revised Charter outlines how Councils can work together to provide better services by:

  • Improving communication.
  • Consulting each other.
  • Giving help and support.
  • Measuring how well we are doing.

Progress will be reviewed every 12 months by officers from the Principal Councils and representatives from WALC as appropriate. A report of this annual review will be included within the agendas for the annual Area Meetings.

Cllr Susan Juned, Leader of Stratford-on-Avon District Council, said: "Due to the rural nature of our District, we rely heavily on the community links our residents have with local councils. This Charter supports the collaborative work needed between the Principal Council and local Parish and Town Councils."

Contact details

Stratford-on-Avon District Council
Elizabeth House, Church Street,
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire,
CV37 6HX
Tel: 01789 267575

Back to news listing

Contact: The Communications team

Last updated on 08/07/2024