New Leader and Cabinet for Stratford-on-Avon District Council

Released on 16 May 2018 Press Release

Stratford News

Stratford-on-Avon District Council has a new Cabinet today, Wednesday 16 May.  

Leader - Cllr Tony Jefferson

Deputy Leader - Cllr Mark Cargill

Services for the Community Portfolio - Cllr Mike Brain

Business, Tourism and ICT Portfolio - Cllr Maurice Howse            

Resources and Property Portfolio - Cllr Lynda Organ

Health, Wellbeing and Housing Portfolio - Cllr Peter Richards

Planning and Building Services Portfolio - Cllr Daren Pemberton

Governance and Democracy Portfolio - Cllr Stephen Thirlwell  


Cllr Tony Jefferson, Leader of Stratford-on-Avon District Council says: "It's an enormous privilege to be elected Leader of Stratford-on-Avon District Council.  I am particularly passionate about the future of our District, focusing on delivering better services and value for money for everyone who lives, works and visits the district.   

"I am looking forward to working together with our new Cabinet, building on the Council's previous successes.  Every member of the team brings wide ranging expertise and enthusiasm to their roles, and I am looking forward to working hard to improve the services accessed by our residents, and to making a difference where it really matters.

"My priorities are to build closer working relationships with partner organisations, develop a new Corporate Strategy for the Council and implement the results of the Strategic Review.  We really will transform the way we work."    


Cllr Tony Jefferson, Leader of Stratford-on-Avon District Council


Chairman - Cllr Christopher Kettle (Bishops Itchington)
Vice- Chairman - Cllr Penny-Anne O'Donnell (Ettington)  

Portfolio details  

Leader - Cllr Tony Jefferson
Community Safety
Council Structure and appointments (inc Chair of Employment & Appointments)
Emergency Planning
Local Authority Liaison and External relationships
Policy, Governance and the Strategic Budget
Political Leadership  

Deputy Leader - Cllr Mark Cargill
Consultation and Performance Management
Corporate Strategy development
Infrastructure Strategy

Services for the Community - Cllr Mike Brain
Car parking
Grounds Maintenance and Street Scene
Leisure Services inc Open Space
Public Conveniences
Refuse & Recycling  

Business, Tourism and ICT - Cllr Maurice Howse
Business Support and markets
Economic Development Policy
ICT and business continuity
Revenues and Benefits (inc Business Rates)

Resources and Property - Cllr Lynda Organ
Asset Management
Corporate Property &  Construction Management
Financial Services
Health and Safety
Human Resources
Internal Audit
Legal Services  

Health, Wellbeing and Housing - Cllr Peter Richards
Community & Voluntary Support
Environmental Health
Health & Wellbeing Strategy
Housing Services and Homelessness (inc Development of Housing Company)
Social Inclusion  

Planning & Building Services - Cllr Daren Pemberton
Building Control
Central Administration
Development Control & Appeals
Land Charges
Planning Enforcement
Planning & Housing Policy  

Governance and Democracy - Cllr Stephen Thirlwell
Customer Services
Democratic, Member Services and Elections
Information Governance
Member Development and Training      



Contact details

Stratford-on-Avon District Council
Elizabeth House, Church Street,
Stratford-on-Avon, Warwickshire,
CV37 6HX
Tel: 01789 267575

Back to Current Press Releases
Last updated on 16/05/2018

Contact the Communications team