Our website has changed!

Please upgrade your account to take advantage of our new features.

It only takes a moment and you only have to do this once!

Upgrade Now No thanks, remind me next time

You have an unverified account!

Verify your existing account with us by clicking the link we sent
you in the confirmation email.

Don't worry if you lost the email. We can send you another one.

Resend verification email
No thanks, I can find my email

Please login

Sorry your details are incorrect.
Please try again.

forgot your password?
Not already registered?

Create new account
Stratford-on-Avon District Council
Welcome! Sign in or register

Parking System Maintenance

Our parking system is currently undergoing essential maintenance to improve the service we provide. As a result, the following services are currently unavailable via that system:

  • Payments
  • Appeals

We are working to ensure full availability is restored as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience in this matter and apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

For urgent enquiries, please call our office on 01789 267575.

Councillors and Council Officers

The Council

The Council is run by councillors, who are elected by the local community. Councillors are responsible for making decisions on behalf of the local community about local services and budgets, such as Council Tax. Each councillor represents a specific area and serves for a period of four years. The work of a councillor includes holding surgeries to help local people, supporting local organisations, campaigning on local issues, and developing links with all parts of the community.

Councillors are not paid a salary or wages, but they are entitled to allowances and expenses to cover some of the costs of carrying out their public duties. All councillors abide by a code of conduct, part of which requires them to declare any financial interests and gifts or hospitality over £25 that could influence any decisions they make.

The Leader

The Leader of the Council is Councillor Chris Saint. The Leader is elected by all members of the Council at the Annual Council meeting. The Leader chairs all meetings of the Council's Cabinet (see below) and leads on policy development and implementation.

See how to ask the Leader a question

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is an executive group responsible for the overall business of the Council. The Cabinet comprises the Leader of the Council, who is the Chairperson, and seven other members appointed by the Council. Each of the members of the Cabinet has a defined portfolio of responsibilities.

Click on this link to view the Cabinet structure.

The decisions of the Cabinet are subject to scrutiny by a different group of councillors as a Overview and Scrutiny Committee to check and monitor what the Cabinet does.

Further information on overview and scrutiny committees is available from our Councillors and Meetings pages.

Council Staff

Whilst the elected councillors provide the policies, paid employees (council officers) put them into practice. The Council employs over 260 staff, who are responsible for a wide range of services benefitting the local community.

All Council staff are subject to annual appraisal and progression on the salary scale only happens if satisfactory progress is evidenced.

Click on this link to view Council Departments.

The Senior Management Team

The senior management team consists to two Executive Directors. One Executive Director is appointed as the Head of Paid Service whilst the other is appointed as the Section 151 Officer. In addition, there are four Heads of Service, one of whom is appointed as the Monitoring Officer.

The Senior Management Team is responsible for managing the activities of Council staff and for advising councillors on the potential implications of political decisions.

By law, senior Council staff are not allowed to participate in any party political activity and are expected to advise and assist all councillors irrespective of their political affiliation.

Remuneration of Senior Management Team

The tables below provide information about the remuneration of the two Executive Directors and other members of the Senior Management Team. They also provide information about any additional payments they receive, such as reimbursement of business expenses or payment for running local elections.



Executive Directors

1. £78,276

2. £80,276

3. £82,653

4. £84,840


Salary points

Additional payments (eg expenses, election fees, etc)

Heads of Service

1. £55,602

2. £57,741

3. £59,877

4. £62,016

Officers' expenses are payable in accordance with an agreed pay policy statement


The Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS) covers council employees, but the Council has not extended it to cover any councillors. The LGPS is a contributory scheme; employees contribute 5.5%-7.5% of their own salaries to the scheme. Employers' contributions to the LGPS vary depending upon how much is needed to ensure benefits under the Scheme are properly funded, and are set independently. The rules governing the pension scheme are contained in regulations made by Parliament. Further information about the scheme can be found on: www.lgps.org.uk