National Lockdown: Stay at home

From 5th of January national lockdown rules apply in England.
Read more information and guidance

The government has replaced the national lockdown measures on 2 December 2020 with a regionally-differentiated approach, where different tiers of restrictions apply in different parts of the country.

There are 4 tiers for local restrictions:

The tiers came into effect from Wednesday 2 December 2020.

There is separate guidance for:

The government will announce the arrangements that will be in place over the Christmas period shortly.

Guidance across all Tiers

Following guidance applies across all tiers, everyone:

Visits to care homes can take place with arrangements such as substantial screens, visiting pods, and window visits.

All businesses and venues that are open are expected to follow COVID-19 secure guidelines to protect customers, visitors and workers.

Everyone who can work from home should do so. Where people cannot do so – including, but not limited to, people who work in critical national infrastructure, construction, or manufacturing – they should continue to travel to their workplace. Public-sector employees working in essential services, including education settings, should continue to go into work where necessary.

Tier 1: Medium Alert

Government guidance for Tier 1: Medium alert

Covid alert level Tier 1

Tier 2: High Alert

Government guidance for Tier 2: High alert

Covid alert Tier 2

Tier 3: Very High Alert

Government guidance for Tier 3: Very high alert

Covid alert Tier 3

Tier 4: Stay at Home

Government guidance for Tier 4: Stay at Home

Covid alert Tier 4

Contact: the Customer Services team

Last updated on 30/12/2020